My comfort zone is quite small.  I will admit that.  I grow comfortable in my routine of going to work, going home to eat dinner with my wife, sitting on the couch with her and our kitten while watching tv, then going to bed and starting the whole thing over again in the morning.

Recently I have been challenged.  More than perhaps I care to be.  I am being encouraged to shift my perspective on the way I look at life, how I perform in my job, how I interact with my wife, family, friends, and strangers.  I have been put in a place of leadership and servanthood.  I have been jarred out of complacency, and thrust into a time of growth and challenge.

But how far can I go?  Can I succesfully accomplish what I am setting out to do?  Do I have what it takes?  A determination to succeed,  A willingness to rely and trust in those who are  supporting and will continue to support me,  A dependence on God, A desire to do and become more?  I hope so.

Yesterday I was asked to consider speaking at an event.  I don’t do that.  I am scared spitless.  But on the otherhand, I have an opportunity not only to bless others with knowledge and grace, but to grow in those things myself.  Why would I not want to do that?  Fear, perhaps.  A fear of acceptance, of not being good enough, or being to young to impart something benficial on those who are older?  I am not sure, but I think that I am going to go for it.

