So over the Labor day weekend, my wife and I went over to Chewelah, WA for a few days of rest and relaxation.  We were joined by my sister-in-law and her husband.  We had a great time hiking, watching movies, and some other exciting times.

On Saturday, we headed to Spokane for the day.  Our first stop was the Dry Fly Distillery.  There were treated very cordially by the owners Kent and Don.  They gave us a quick tour of the facility and explained how they make their products, and then we were served some samples of both vodka and gin.

The Vodka was quite unique.  It was surprisingly smooth, great bite, a hint of sweetness, but really no harshness.  Normally I am not really a fan of vodka, especially neat at room temperature, but this vodka was pleasing.  I will be adding this product to my liquor stock.

The gin I already have in my stock, but as with the vodka I don’t normally try neat.  The Dry Fly Gin is one of my favorite new gins for mixing in drinks where gin is the sole main spirit.  It pairs really well with fruits such as apples and citrus, as well as herbs such as peppermint, rosemary, etc..

All in all, I was really impressed with Dry Fly, and I cant wait until their Whiskeys are ready to go to market. I will surely be adding them to my stock.

After that we made a quick trip to Cabellas, and then stopped for drinks at a new bistro in Spokane called Twigs. It was one of the largest restaurants I have ever been in, and their drink selection was fairly large and adequate in content.

The next day we went out to the Chewelah Golf and Country Club, and played a round of golf as the 1st annual dry fly tournament. I lost, but it was a ton of fun. I’ll do better next year for sure.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
