Well, here we are. One Quarter of the way through Vintage Spirits and Forgotten Cocktails. I have tried many a drink that I otherwise would never have tried, and have purchased many an ingredient that I have wanted, but never had the need for. Really, if I had the money, I would buy the whole liquor store. It is that cool. Enough rambling and on to the drink.

The Milk Punch is traditionally a breakfast (or dessert) cocktail. I think it functions well in both applications, as well as for a hot summer day. I have actually had this drink many times, but usually around the Christmas season, as the blend of dark spirits and nutmeg go well with the holiday atmosphere. The milk punch is refreshing, with the brandy providing a nice backbone, and the rum adding its flavors along the edge. I prefer using a super dark rum such as Cruzan Blackstrap or Goslings Black Seal for the extra molasses flavor, but any dark rum will do fine. One note on preparation: if you shake this drink, you will get a nice thick foamy layer on top. If that is not your preference, you may also stir the drink, just make sure it still gets mixed up well.

Milk Punch
1 oz Brandy
1/2 oz Dark Rum
2 tsp Simple Syrup
2 dashes Vanilla Extract
4 oz Whole Milk

