MxMo has been on hiatus for the last couple on months, but this month we are back at it. This month’s theme, chosen by Lindsey Johnson, is Brown, Bitter and Stirred. Although I liked the idea of using a dark spirit, they always remind me that autumn is here, and not far after winter will be appearing, so I chose rum as my spirit of choice, because there is always room for rum no matter what the season. Yes, I do still have rum in my bar, although it does seem like the rum is always gone.

Recently I have noticed how much my palate is becoming accustomed to the bitter side of life, and so this month’s theme was great to mix something new that contains a bitter element, as my summertime imbibing has been anything but. I briefly thought about doing the angostura fizz, but thought that might have been taking it a little too far. For my cocktail, I chose to use both a blackstrap rum as well as a dark jamaican rum. To balance it out, some falernum and a healthy dose of angostura bitters. I had been talking with friends about going to Disneyland with them in the new year, and since I was playing around with rum and falernum, I could not get the pirate theme out of my head, so without further ado, the Barbossa’s Blood.

Barbossa’s Blood
1 oz Blackstrap Rum
1 oz Dark Jamaican Rum
1 oz Lime Juice
1/2 oz Falernum
15 dashes Angostura Bitters

