It’s that time again. Mixology Monday, the day of the month that always creeps up on me and leaves me racking my brain at the last minute to come up with a good idea. Not that I don’t usually have a good excuse, I really do. I just returned last Thursday from a two week trip to Ireland, and have several things to post up about that soon. However, back to the business at hand. This month is being hosted by Doug over at the Pegu Blog, and his chosen theme is: Lime. You can check out his announcement post here.

Limes are a small citrus fruit, Citrus aurantifolia, whose skin and flesh are green in color and which have an oval or round shape with a diameter between one to two inches. Limes can either be sour or sweet, with the latter not readily available in the United States. Sour limes possess a greater sugar and citric acid content than lemons and feature an acidic and tart taste, while sweet limes lack citric acid content and are sweet in flavor. I really wish that Doug had given a little tighter of a topic, because as he noted, Limes can be used as an ingredient and a garnish, and they are included as one or the other in so many cocktails that it is difficult to choose. However, I choice must be made, so I am going to go with a combination of rum and lime. Lime has been paired with rum from the very beginning, and when a little sugar is added to the mix, a magnificent cocktail appears. The daiquiri, not to be confused with those overly sugary slushies, is such a simple yet complex cocktail. Technically a rum sour, the basic formula for the daiquiri can be adapted and used with any other base spirits to create great cocktails.

The Daiquiri
2 oz Rum
1 oz Lime Juice
1/2 oz Simple Syrup

These three simple ingredients mix together and create something that is altogether greater than the sum of its ingredients. The Daiquiri is traditionally made with a light cuban style rum, but I enjoy using a well crafted dark rum as well. Whatever you use, make sure it is a quality rum, fresh limes, and adjust the sugar to taste, and you have the foundation for a whole family of drinks.


apologies for the stock pic, it is late and I am too lazy to get a picture.

