For some reason I have been thinking about beer cocktails a lot recently. Perhaps it is because I have been studying more about beer styles and food pairings, but nonetheless, I thought it would be time to experiment a bit with beer as a cocktail ingredient. I wasn’t quite sure how to go about approaching this, so I thought of some of the drinks I make on a regular basis and how I could substitute or incorporate beer into them. Luckily for me, one of the first drinks I thought of was the French 75. Perfect. Now to choose a beer. I wanted something that was fairly effervescent, strong, and semi sweet, as these qualities would pair well with the gin and lemon. I knew that I wanted a belgian beer, as most belgians have the qualities that I was looking for. I immediately thought of my old friend La Fin Du Monde. Light in color, sweet and malty, with a 9% abv, this tripel-style golden ale was just what I needed. I used Dry Fly Gin, as one of it’s botanicals is hops, and left out the simple syrup as the beer would balance out the lemon juice on its own. So there you have it, a beer cocktail worth trying. Cheers!

In Flanders Field
1 1/2oz Gin
1 oz Lemon Juice
4 oz Belgian style Tripel

