Scotch is infamous for its difficulty in being used as a base for cocktails. I’m not really sure what it is that makes it so hard to get along with, but it sure is. That being said, occasionally a blend of just the right ingredients paired with scotch can give birth to an amazing drink. This can be said for the Modernista cocktail, which I can honestly say is the best scotch cocktail I have ever had. Based upon the Modern Maid cocktail, Ted Haigh adjusts some proportions and adds some Swedish Punsch, making this a flavor packed, well balanced cocktail. Unfortunately, the use of some rarer ingredients and the need for careful measuring means that you will be hard pressed to find a bar around here that can even make this drink, but if you are wanting to try one, let me know the next time you are in my neck of the woods. Cheers!

The Modernista
2 oz Scotch
1/2 oz dark Jamaican Rum
1/2 oz Swedish Punsch
1/2 oz Lemon Juice
1 tsp Absinthe
2 dashes Orange Bitters

