One of the seasonal releases from Lagunitas Brewing, Wilco Tango Foxtrot Ale, (or WTF) is described as a “A Malty, Robust, Jobless Recovery Ale.” It certainly is that. Massively malty and robust with a huge hop flavor, it weighs in at 7.83% abv, not a beer for the weak hearted.

WTF pours a deep copper in color with a fairly good sized tan head. The aromas are rich with caramel malt and brown sugar, balanced out by the citrusy evergreen hops. On the tongue, the sweet flavors do not feature as prominently as you would expect, instead you get a lot of dark roast, a little bitter chocolate, and a huge shot of the aforementioned piney hop flavors. If I didn’t know any better, I would almost guess that I was drinking an IPA. While this is not the malt bomb that the label implies, it would appeal greatly to IPA fans, and while I typically do not favor such a hoppy beer, I would pick this one up again. Cheers!

