Despite the name, this cocktail has more in common with a cool Florida night than it does with the streets of Manhattan. Ted Haigh expresses confused about the name of the drink as well.

Note, if you will, the tropical character, invoking Carmen Miranda strutting down a Palm Beach boulevard. As I say, the names of this and the Palm Beach Special preceding it, were obviously switched at birth.

This cocktail is light, fruity and complex, with pineapple being the dominant note in the aroma of the cocktail. On the taste, the gin and vermouth are at the forefront, with the pineapple and curacao rounding out the balance. I’m not sure what it was, but this cocktail did not suit my fancy in the least. I’m sure that some might think that it is fantastic, but I found the combination of ingredients absolutely horrific. I’ll have to give it at least one more chance, but maybe this one stayed forgotten for a reason.

Park Avenue Cocktail
2 oz Gin
3/4 oz Pineapple Juice
3/4 oz Sweet Vermouth
1/4 oz Orange Curacao

